Sport Gaelic Football

Thursday 19 January 2017

Na sceilge era ended

St Brendan's 2-7
Colaiste na sceilge 0-12
Corn ui Mhuiri Semi-final

Published 22/02/2010 | 05:00

THERE will be new champions crowned in Munster colleges football this season, after Hogan Cup kingpins Coláiste na Sceilge were sensationally dumped out yesterday.

  • Go To

Managed by Kerry coach Jack O'Connor, Na Sceilge battled back from six points down at half-time to draw level with 10 minutes to go.

However, Bryan O'Shea and centre forward Brendan Falvey swung over superb scores for their Killarney opponents.

Na Sceilge pulled a point back through a Stephen O'Dwyer free but Eanna O'Connor's late, late attempt at an equaliser tailed wide, heralding the end of the Caherciveen School's dominance.

St Brendan's scored a first-minute penalty through Chris O'Leary and added a second goal from Padraig Lucey to lead by 2-5 to 0-5 at the break.

Six points in a row, through O'Connor and O'Dwyer, pulled Na Sceilge level, but it is the Sem who advance to a Munster final against De La Salle Macroom.

Scorers -- St Brendans: C O'Leary 1-1 (1-0 pen, 0-1f), P Lucey 1-0, B Falvey ( 0-1f), J O'Donoghue 0-2 each, S Keane, B O'Shea 0-1 each. Coláiste Na Sceilge: S O'Dwyer (0-3 f, 0-1 '45), E O'Connor (0-3 f, 0-1 sideline) 0-5 each, C Keating, I Galvin 0-1.

St Brendan's, Killarney -- D Gleeson; E O'Sullivan, S McCarthy, C Davies; D O'Leary, C Tobin, C Fitzgerald; P Lucey, G O'Leary; C Horan, B Falvey, C O'Leary; T Moriarty, S Keane, J O'Donoghue. Subs: B O'Shea for C Horan (43), S Coppinger for D O'Leary (43).

Coláiste na Sceilge -- D Horgan; B Murphy, O Clifford, N Fitzgerald; P O'Sullivan, D Daly, P O'Sullivan; M Thiemann, J Curran; C Farley, C Keating, I Galvin; B O'Dwyer, S O'Dwyer, E O'Connor. Subs: M O'Connor for B Murphy (h/t); G Cronin for C Farley (50).

REF -- Pat Sheehy (Causeway).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport