Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Mourning sad passing of two great GAA men

Published 23/02/2013 | 04:00

TWO great men left these shores while we were abroad last week and, frankly, news of their passing – one after the other – hit like jackboots to the solar plexus.

We'd heard rumours at the England rugby game that Sean Og O Ceallachain might be unwell, yet – for a man whose broadcasting career put him in the 'Guinness Book of Records' – it was easy to mistake his aura of permanency as a licence to defy the march of time.

He'll surely be the youngest 89-year-old St Peter will have opened the gates to and, no doubt, he's already haranguing Heffo about the possibilities of that book he never wrote.

Word of Johnny Murphy's death came as a terrible jolt by comparison.

For, compared to Sean Og (above), Johnny was still a juvenile hurler, a roguishly young 71-year-old who could impart colour and riotous laughter to the greyest of rural settings.

A Tipperary man domiciled in Dungarvan, he had the intelligence never to mistake those of us perched in GAA press boxes as anything other than blue-collar messengers.

After a bad fall more than a year ago, it was such a thrill to see him back on the beat last spring and – seemingly – restored to his mischievous pomp.

I can honestly say that in an industry notorious for preciousness and lost perspective, Johnny Murphy achieved the remarkable distinction of being universally loved. A rare thing.

We'll miss him desperately down here, no question, but – rest assured – there'll be a lot more laughter in the sky.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport