Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA 2

Rep of Ireland IRL 1


Germany GER 2

Slovakia SVK 0


Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL


Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP


England ENG

Iceland ISL


Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR


McGrath powers Our Lady's into final

Our Lady's, T'more 1-11 Naas CBS 0-7 All-Ireland Cols SFC 'B' S/Fs

Published 01/04/2013 | 05:00

OUR Lady's of Templemore enjoyed a reasonably comfortable passage to the final, as they were too good for Naas CBS at a bitterly cold Gracefield on Saturday.

Our Lady's laid the foundations for victory in midfield, where John McGrath powered them on with a relentless display, while Colin O Riordain helped out ably to ensure that the Naas CBS forwards enjoyed a very limited supply of ball.

Playing into the wind in the first half, the Templemore students had one foot in the final when they went in at the break leading by 1-5 to 0-5.

Naas were 0-3 to 0-1 up after 14 minutes but that was as good as it got for them as Our Lady's got on top in all areas of the field.

The decisive score of the first half was a well-taken goal from Thomas Nolan in the 17th minute, and Our Lady's would have been further ahead but for a very good save by Liam Power from Sean Patrick Guerins on the stroke of half-time.

In the second half, Our Lady's always looked like winning as they quickly put daylight between the two teams. They were 1-8 to 0-5 up before Naas got their first point and they never allowed the Kildare side a glimmer of hope.

SCORERS – Our Lady's: J McGrath 0-5 (4fs, 1 '45'), T Nolan 1-1, SP Guerins, C O Riordain 0-2 each, JJ Ryan 0-1. Naas CBS: J O'Brien 0-3 (1f), D Boothman 0-2, C Julian (f), D Watson 0-1 each.

OUR LADY'S – L Murphy; M Camption, D Brereton, J Bergin; JJ Ryan, B Kennedy, J Ryan; C O Riordain, J McGrath; J Fogarty, E Moloney, D McEnroe; T Nolan, SP Guerins, B O'Connell.

Subs: T Brett for Fogarty (43), T Maher for O'Connell (48).

NAAS CBS – L Power; A Fitzsimons, S Dunne, J Heavey; J Hill, E Cummins, N Connolly; R McDermott, E Bateman; D McHolmes, A McDermott, D Watson; C Julian, D Boothman, J O'Brien. Subs: M Stewart-Byrne for Hill (48), K Fitzpatrick for O'Brien (51), B Byrnes for McHolmes (57).

REF – F Kelly (Longford).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport