Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Kettle keeps counsel as Dublin seek quick hearing

Published 19/04/2013 | 05:00

Donegal's Patrick McBrearty
Donegal's Patrick McBrearty

Dublin have sought a swift hearing for the player facing a proposed three-match ban for an alleged biting offence, with next Monday the most likely date.

Dublin are keen to get the hearing with the Central Hearings Committee out of the way well ahead of their preparations for Sunday week's league final.

One daily newspaper named the player facing the proposed suspension as Dublin corner-back Kevin O'Brien, the county's All-Ireland U-21 winning captain in 2012, but Dublin chairman Andy Kettle refused to confirm or deny that identity when contacted yesterday.

"All I can say is that the Central Competitions Controls Committee have proposed a suspension for a Dublin player and that player has sought a hearing. Otherwise we have no further comment," said Kettle.

Donegal made the allegation that Paddy McBrearty had been bitten on the shoulder in the first half of the league match between the sides in Ballybofey on Sunday before last.

The three-match ban has been recommended because the GAA's disciplinary arm contend a 'category three' offence has been committed.

Biting is not specifically mentioned under this rule but it is considered to be an offence covered under the definition "inflicting injury recklessly".

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport