Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Ireland v Australia: The Game at a Glance

Man of the match

Published 21/10/2013 | 05:00

Zach Tuohy (Ireland)

  • Go To

On a night when steady efficiency throughout the team, rather than individual brilliance, established Ireland's superiority, the Laois man, who plies his trade in Australia with Carlton, added enough lustre to his performance to merit special mention.

TURNING POINT

After trailing 39-14 in the 48th minute, Australia cut the deficit to eight points early in the final quarter. They had a glorious chance, only for Steven Motlop to hit the woodwork. Ireland outscored Australia 18-4 in the final 10 minutes.

TALKING POINT

Just what has happened the series? Australia sent a weak squad, leaving Ireland in a position where they didn't even have to play particularly well to seize control. So much for Australian pride. This lot would give wimps a bad name.

MAGIC MOMENT

No magic dust on a pleasant autumn night as Ireland systematically dismantled the Australian challenge without really hitting many high notes. Paul Earley had Ireland so well organised that they would probably have done much better if the occasion demanded.

REF WATCH

AN EASY NIGHT FOR MAURICE DEEGAN AND MATT STEVIC. APART FROM A BRIEF FLARE-UP EARLY IN THE FINAL QUARTER, BOTH SIDES WERE ON THEIR BEST BEHAVIOUR.

WHAT THEY SAID

PAUL EARLEY (IRISH MANAGER):

"WE'RE IN A GOOD POSITION BUT WE CAN TAKE NOTHING FOR GRANTED. A COUPLE OF SIX-POINTERS COULD TURN IT AROUND QUICKLY. WE WILL BE LEAVING NOTHING TO CHANCE NEXT WEEK. THERE WERE CERTAIN ASPECTS OF OUR GAME THAT WE WILL HAVE TO LOOK AT AND SEE IF WE CAN MAKE IMPROVEMENTS."

Michael O'Loughlin (Australian manager):

"I was disappointed with our efforts. Our ability to apply pressure was non-existent in the first half. For a team that prides itself on pressure, to chase and tackle, that was disappointing. Our guys got a really big wake-up call. Some guys got found out."

MATCH STATISTICS

Wides: Ireland 9 (9 first half); Australia 8 (3)

Frees: Ireland 12 (8); Australia 16 (6)

Yellow cards: 0

Red cards: 0

WHAT'S NEXT?

Ireland take a 22-point lead into the second Test in Croke Park next Saturday (7.0).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport