Sport Gaelic Football

Friday 18 August 2017

Ill-tempered final settled by Moore

Craigbane 0-6 Culloville 0-5

Craigbane just shaded this final over 13-man Culloville at Omagh in a game that saw 18 cards, three of them red.

The Armagh champions lost two men in two minutes when Colm Watters and John Kingham both got second bookings late in the first half. However, they still led by 0-4 to 0-1 at the break, with Colm and Seamus Watters and Kieran Hatzer on target.

Craigbane struggled to penetrate their opponents' defensive wall after the break until Blaine Gormley began to dominate, kicking two fine points for the Derry men.

The sides were level going into the final two minutes after Johnny McGeeney pointed, but Lee Moore won it with a stoppage-time score.

SCORERS -- Craigbane: B Gormley 0-3, L Moore 0-2, C O'Kane 0-1. Culloville: K Hatzer, S Watters, F Rowland, C Watters, J McGeeney (f) 0-1 each.

Craigbane -- P Sharkey; D McLaughlin, F Crossan, M McGinty; B Rainey, R Moore, C McLaughlin; B Gormley, G Conwell; D Lowry, A Devine, C O'Kane; J McLaughlin, L Moore, R Moore. Subs: R Gormley for Lowry, A McLaughlin for J McLaughlin, N Reilly for Devine.

Culloville -- K McMahon; C Meegan, D Rowland, S Liddy; P Caherty, F Rowland, M Watters; P McGeeney, J Kingham; S O'Neill, C Watters, N Rowland; J McGeeney, K Hatzer, S Watters. Subs: P Kingham for P McGeeney, S McGeeney for M Watters.

Ref -- C Branagan (Down).

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport