Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Granard hold on in thriller

Cnoc Mhuire Granard 2-13 Holy Trinity 2-12

Published 14/04/2013 | 11:10

Fourteen-man Cnoc Mhuire from Longford triumphed in a thrilling All-Ireland Vocational Schools football final at Croke Park.

  • Go To

Ryan Loughran struck an early goal for Holy Trinity Cookstown, but that was cancelled out by Nigel Rabbitt's goal for Granard.

Three Rian Brady points helped Granard take control, and despite the loss of midfielder Aidan McElligott to a second booking, they led by 2-7 to 1-4 at the break.

Granard led by nine going into the final 12 minutes, but Cookstown, with the help of a goal from substitute Jason Rocks, cut the gap to a single point, just falling short, and losing Rocks to a straight red card in stoppage time.

Scorers – Granard: A McElligott, N Rabbitt 1-0 each, D McGivney (5f), R Brady (1f) 0-5 each, M Gorman, F O'Reilly, L Sullivan 0-1 each. Cookstown: R Loughran 1-2, J Rocks 1-1, J McGahan 0-5 (3f), D Magee, D Woods, G Goodfellow, D Mulgrew 0-1 each

Holy Trinity Cookstown: A McKenna; D Fitzpatrick, D McKenna, K Coney; Conor Quinn, D Devlin, E Coyle; K McGeary, F Burns; R Loughran, D Magee, Cathaoir Quinn; D Mulgrew, J McGahan, M Quinn. Subs: G Goodfellow for Cathaoir Quinn, D Woods for M Quinn, S Kelly for Coyle, J Rocks for Conor Quinn.

Cnoc Mhuire Granard: L Meehan; T McGahern, D Fitzsimons, I Ilunga; B McKiernan, S McKeogh, L Sullivan; D McGivney, A McElligott; A O'Reilly, M Gorman, C Mallon; R Brady, N Rabbitt, F O'Reilly. Subs: M Kiernan for O'Reilly, A Brady for Gorman.

Referee: L Devenney (Mayo)

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport