Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


FRC set to go extra mile in bid to explain proposals fully

Published 07/02/2013 | 04:00

THE Football Review Committee (FRC) are prepared to travel the country to explain the rationale behind their 18-point plan to improve the game.

With a little more than six weeks to go before Congress votes on the package of measures, the FRC are keen to ensure that counties are fully apprised of the background to their proposals, including the introduction of a 'black card' sanction (player sent off and replaced) for certain categories of fouls.

However, the FRC won't be canvassing for support, opting instead to deal with queries and outlining the benefits they believe the new rules would bestow on Gaelic football.

They are already booked in to address the four provincial council conventions and will visit counties if requested.

"It's not a question of us going around the country trying to sell anything. We're not canvassing or seeking election but if any county board wants us to go through the proposals, we'll do that," FRC chairman Eugene McGee said.

Improving

"We wanted everyone to understand exactly where we were coming from when we came up with the proposals. Our brief was to suggest ways of improving Gaelic football – it's up to others to decide if we've done that."

The proposal to 'black card' players who are guilty of certain aggressive and/or cynical fouls is likely to prove the most contentious, especially since there has been opposition from some team managers.

However, there's also considerable support for a move which seeks to target players who use deliberately destructive means of stopping the opposition.

The FRC were forced to amend their original plan to have a player who picked up a single yellow card automatically replaced for the remainder of the game. Hence, the 'black card' alternative.

While much of the concentration has been on the 'black card' proposal, it is only one of 18 suggestions dealing with all facets of the game.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport