Friday 18 April 2014

Early goals swing it for Ballinasloe

Ballinasloe 4-11
Oran 0-7

A couple of early goals put Ballinasloe in the driving seat as they cruised to the title in Kiltoom.

Oran's Paul Kenny struck for the opening point, but goals from Darragh Burke and Darragh McCormack gave Ballinasloe a five-point lead after seven minutes.

The Roscommon champions managed to whittle the deficit back to just three points in the early stages of the second half, but the 47th-minute dismissal of Kenny, their most potent attacker, ended their hopes of a comeback.

And Ballinasloe ran riot in the closing quarter with goals from Gary Canavan and Paul Whelehan providing the icing on the cake.

Scorers -- Ballinasloe: K Kelly 0-5 (4f, 1'45'), D McCormack, P Whelehan (1f) 1-1 each, D Burke, G Canavan 1-0 each, L Lynch 0-2 (1f, 1 '45), P Cunningham, M Colohon 0-1 each. Oran: P Kenny 0-3 (1f), J Cassidy 0-2 (2f), M Dwyer, M Gunning 0-1 each.

Ballinasloe -- N King; S Kelly, J Shaughnessy, E Fenton; M Kelly, K Kelly, N Hynes; L Tierney, L Lynch; D Burke, P Cunningham, G Canavan; D McCormack, C Riddell, P Whelehan. Subs: P Ryan for C Riddell (12), M Colohan for P Ryan (h-t), R O'Healy for N Hynes (49), N Stack for E Fenton (57), S Kenny for M Kelly (57).

Oran -- M Monaghan; J Concannon, T Featherston, K Concannon; M Gunning, D McDermott, M Dwyer; D Leonard, R Varley; N Mullen, E McGreevey, E Kenny; P Kenny, D Harrington, J Cassidy. Subs: C Kenny for T Featherston (19), M Gunning for D Harrington (28), P Varley for K Concannon (55), C Mee for M Dwyer (55), I Conneely for N Mullen (55).

Ref -- J Henry (Mayo).

Also in this Section




Meet, chat and connect with
singles in your area


Meet Singles Now



Now available on

Don't Miss

Top Stories

Celebrity News