Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA 2

Rep of Ireland IRL 1

REPORT

Germany GER 1

Slovakia SVK 0

Ongoing

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Creedon blasts 'crazy' pile-up

Published 19/03/2014 | 02:30

26 May 2013; Tipperary manager Peter Creedon. Munster GAA Football Senior Championship, Quarter-Final, Kerry v Tipperary, Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney, Co. Kerry. Picture credit: Diarmuid Greene / SPORTSFILE
26 May 2013; Tipperary manager Peter Creedon. Munster GAA Football Senior Championship, Quarter-Final, Kerry v Tipperary, Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney, Co. Kerry. Picture credit: Diarmuid Greene / SPORTSFILE

Tipperary senior football team manager Peter Creedon has slammed his own county board for a "crazy" fixtures pile-up that could see two of his men play seven games in 14 days.

Clonmel Commercials pair Ian Fahey and Michael Quinlivan were involved in a South U-21 football semi-final against Moyle Rovers last Saturday that went to extra-time, before starting for Tipperary against Antrim in Sunday's Allianz NFL Division 4 tie.

They will start for Tipp against Clare in this evening's Munster U-21 semi-final in Milltown-Malbay. After that, they are facing the prospect of two further club games over the coming weekend as Commercials are pencilled in for a South final against Ballyporeen on Friday night, with a county semi-final against JK Brackens fixed for Sunday.

Fahey and Quinlivan also played against Waterford in last week's Munster U-21 quarter-final and the Division 4 game against Clare three days before.

Describing the situation as "pathetic", a furious Creedon lashed out at Premier County top brass. He said: "It's nothing short of a disgrace to be asking those players to play a club fixture when it could have been fixed for later in the year. They're great lads and they deserve better."

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport