Tuesday 17 October 2017

Club championships throw up season of 'first-timers'

Martin Breheny

Martin Breheny

First-time senior club hurling and football champions in Leinster, new hurling champions in Munster and Connacht (Galway) – it has been a really refreshing season on the AIB provincial club circuit.

It means that irrespective of who wins the hurling semi-finals, at least one club (Thurles Sarsfields or Kilcormac-Killoughey) will be in the Croke Park for the first time on St Patrick's Day. And if new Galway champions St Thomas' beat defending All-Ireland champions Loughgiel Shamrocks, both finalists will be first-timers.

Ballymun Kickhams, first-time Leinster football winners, are in with seasoned campaigners from the other three provinces, plus Tir Chonaill Gaels (London) but look well primed for a big push.

What odds on first-time All-Ireland champions being crowned in both codes, something which last happened in 2006 when Galway duo Portumna and Salthill-Knocknacarra took the titles?

Irish Independent

Independent.ie Comments Facility

INM has taken the decision to remove the commenting facility on its online platform Independent.ie to minimise the legal risk to our business that arises from Ireland's draconian libel awards system.

We continue to look forward to receiving comments through direct email contact or via social media, some of which may still be featured on the website Independent.ie

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport