Tuesday 24 January 2017

Cahillane clinical

Laois 0-13
Wicklow 0-10

Published 08/03/2010 | 05:00

For the second successive year, Laois have dumped Wicklow out of the championship following their win at Aughrim on Saturday.

  • Go To

The sides were level on four occasions in the first half and Wicklow led briefly after 23 minutes when a Peadar Burke point put them 0-5 to 0-4 ahead.

Donal Kingston and Brian Glynn were giving Laois a pull at midfield and corner-forward Paul Cahillane was clinical up front with his six points. As the half drew to a close, Cahillane scored three smart points, one from a free, to edge Laois ahead by 0-7 to 0-6 at the break.

Laois stretched their lead to 0-10 to 0-6 in the first 10 minutes. But Wicklow stepped up their game and cut the deficit to a single point, 0-9 to 0-10, with 10 minutes left.

Cahillane fired a fine brace of points in the closing stages to copper fasten Laois' victory.

Scorers -- Laois: P Cahillane 0-6 (0-2f), G Walsh (0-1f), J Booth, D Kingston 0-2 each, B Smith 0-1. Wicklow: D Siney 0-4 (0-2f), C Walsh (0-1f), A Merriman, B McGarr, Se Carthy, P Burke, P Cunningham 0-1 each.

Laois -- J Dunphy; R Kehoe, J Mulhare, D Browne; S George, K Lillis, C Boyle; B Glynn, D Kingston; A Ryan, J Booth, B Smith; P Cahillane, G Walsh, J Doyle. Subs: C Delaney for Doyle, C Booth for George.

Wicklow -- L Trainor; S Mann, P McLoughlin, S Horan; C Foley, A McLoughlin, B Osbourne; A Merriman, B McGarr; R Carroll, C Walsh, P Cunningham; S Carthy, P Burke, D Siney. Subs: C Murphy for Horan, S Dillon for Carthy, M Caplis for Walsh, S Horan for Cunningham.

Ref -- G McCormick (Dublin).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport