Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


14-man Dublin beat Mayo as Brogan shines

Published 03/03/2013 | 10:24

GER Brennan saw red, Stephen Cluxton missed a penalty but Bernard Brogan's class helped Dublin see off the challenge of Mayo tonight at Croke Park.

Brogan, the 2010 footballer of the year, scored 1-10 in a virtuoso display as Jim Gavin's men preserved their 100pc start to the National League with Mayo left to rue some poor shooting in a 2-14 to 0-16 win.

Brogan set the ball rolling the opening two scores of the game as Dublin led by three but six unanswered points from Mayo with Jason Doherty in particularly good form.

Brogan, Cian O'Sullivan and Paddy Andrews added points before Brogan swooped for the game's opening goal.

Mayo responded well and Michael Conlon's point meant they trailed by 1-8 to 0-8 at the break.

James Horan's men dominated the early stages of the second period with Kevin McLoughlin impressing as they regained the lead and their caused was helped after Ger Brennan was dismissed for elbowing Donal Vaughan.

Dublin were then gifted a chance to retake the lead within minutes of being reduced to 14 but Stephen Cluxton saw his penalty expertly saved by Kenneth O'Malley.

They didn't have to wait long for another goal as the next score was a goal from Kevin McManamon to put the Dubs 2-9 to 0-14 in front.

Brogan and Paddy Andrews then pointed Dublin to victory as Lee Keegan blew any chance of a Mayo comeback by blazing a ball over when one-on-one with Cluxton and Dublin ran out 2-14 to 0-16 winners.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport