Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Former Connacht and Ireland full-back Gavin Duffy in training with Mayo

Published 14/05/2014 | 21:03

Connacht's Gavin Duffy with his two-year-old daughter Jessica after his last Connacht game
Connacht's Gavin Duffy with his two-year-old daughter Jessica after his last Connacht game

Former Connacht and Ireland star Gavin Duffy has started training with the Mayo senior footballers and, according to former Mayo star David Brady, he has been impressing.

Brady told Off The Ball on Newstalk this evening that Duffy, who failed to win a contract with Connacht for next season, took part in his first session with James Horan's men last night.

"I think [James Horan] has made a master move by bringing in Gavin Duffy, the ex-Irish international rugby player and long-time Connacht player into the Mayo panel. At the age of 32 or 33, I think it's a great move," Brady said.

"Someone said to me that he didn't just fit in, he stood out.

"Look at the experience he has and I think it will only add to the Mayo setup."

Duffy played a huge role in Mayo's path to a All-Ireland minor final in Croke Park in 1999, where they were beaten by a Benny Coulter inspired Down team.

Lining out at midfield during that campaign, Duffy gained a reputation as brilliant fielder of the ball which must of helped him when he embarked on a successful career at full-back in rugby union.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport