Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Fermanagh find unlikely hero in victory over Westmeath

Published 29/06/2013 | 17:18

Marty McGrath in action against John Heslin
Marty McGrath in action against John Heslin

Corner-back John Woods popped up with an injury-time winner as Fermanagh beat Westmeath 3-10 to 1-15 at Cusack Park in Mullingar.

After being promoted to Division One a lot was expected of Westmeath but their 2013 Championship campaign has ended without a win.

Denis Glennon scored directly after the throw-in but Fermanagh's Sean Quigley hit a trio of points to put Peter Canavan's side in front.

John Heslin pulled back a point from a free before the visitors struck for a very bizarre goal as Conor Quigley's speculative effort looped in over Gary Connaughton.

Westmeath pulled back a brace in front of their own fans.

Sean Quigley was the man of the moment and struck for a second goal as he blasted to the bottom corner as Westmeath looked to be suffering a hangover from their heavy defeat to Dublin.

Westmeath closed but trailed by 2-5 to 0-7 at the break with Fermanagh guilty of kicking 13 wides.

Both sides swapped scores before Westmeath were awarded a penalty when Chris Snow took down Denis Glennon

John Heslin showed great composure to slot the penalty and level the game at 2-6 to 1-9.

Westmeath went in front through Ger Egan before Ryan Jones capped a lung-busting run with a fine solo goal.

Fermanagh continued to find it hard to raise the white flag and with 10 minutes to go Westmeath and the accurate John Heslin had closed to within a point on a scoreline of 3-8 to 1-13.

Sean Quigley was still scoring from placed balls and stretched the lead to two before Ciaran Martin was sent-off for a second bookable offence.

Calum McCormack had a goal chance but blazed over and there was a solitary point between the teams and then he scored a point to equalise just on full-time.

It was looking like finishing level but corner-back John Woods marauded forward and kicked an incredible winner.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport