Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Felipe Aguilar produces dream back nine to win in Singapore

Published 04/05/2014 | 11:18

Felipe Aguilar of Chile poses with the trophy after winning The Championship at Laguna National in Singapore
Felipe Aguilar of Chile poses with the trophy after winning The Championship at Laguna National in Singapore

Felipe Aguilar produced a breathtaking back nine to storm to The Championship at Laguna National title in Singapore.

  • Go To

Aguilar began the day four shots off the pace and made two birdies in his opening nine holes before his round came to life after the turn.

The Chilean recorded a further six birdies, but it was his eagle on the last that took him to 22 under par overall and a one-shot victory over American David Lipsky and Anders Hansen of Denmark.

"Yesterday I thought I had no chance," Aguilar said.

"Today I said to my caddie on the 17th, after I made a birdie, 'if we can make a birdie on 18 we can put some pressure on the leader' and he said 'what about making a two?'.

"I said to him the way I had been hitting the ball I could well do. It's a long story but I made two on 18, and what a beautiful way to finish."

Aguilar came home in 28 to record a 10-under-par final round and seal his second victory on the European Tour, with his other success coming in the Enjoy Jakarta Astro Indonesia Open in February 2008.

"It's been a bit of a drought for six years," he added.

"I've lost a couple of times in play-offs and had a couple of top threes and top fives, but never was able to get the round going on the last day, so it is nice to finally do it."

Lipsky can feel aggrieved to finish runner-up after carding a bogey-free 65, while Hansen, who was joint overnight leader, recorded a five-under-par round for the third time this week.

Rahil Gangjee of India finished fourth on 19 under par overall, while England's Chris Wood was a further shot back after a round of 67, with compatriot Tommy Fleetwood finishing in a tie for eighth.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport