Sport

Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


FAI chief Delaney defends title

Published 19/03/2013 | 19:26

John Delaney
John Delaney

Football Association of Ireland chief executive John Delaney has defended his lucrative salary.

  • Go To

Delaney, who has presided over stringent cutbacks which have affected even Ireland boss Giovanni Trapattoni and his coaching staff, reportedly earns around 340,000 euros a year.

However, he has revealed he could have left for a better-paid post, and told Sky Sports News: "I was offered a job three times the salary that I'm currently on, and that's a fact. I didn't take the job, I didn't want the job. I'm very happy in this job."

He went on: "I think the turnover of the FAI in the mid-90s, 1996,97, was about seven million euros. Last year it was north of 40 million euros.

"We are in a tough economy here in Ireland at the moment and anybody who is on a big salary is going to grab media attention."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport