Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Donnelly keen to cement team places

Published 05/06/2014 | 17:07

Liam Donnelly is hoping to make a breakthrough for Northern Ireland and Fulham
Liam Donnelly is hoping to make a breakthrough for Northern Ireland and Fulham

Liam Donnelly is hoping to win a place for both club and country next season after making his Northern Ireland debut against Chile.

The 18-year-old defender has yet to feature for Fulham's first team but earned a call-up for the national side's tour of South America on the back of some standout performances for the Under-21s.

Having sat out the 1-0 defeat in Uruguay, Donnelly was awarded a first cap as a late substitute in Wednesday's 2-0 loss to Chile and is already eager for more.

But with Northern Ireland well stocked in defence - Gareth McAuley, Jonny Evans, Craig Cathcart and Alex Bruce were all absent from the trip - he knows he will need to make an impression on the Cottagers first team.

"I'm very proud to get on and make my debut, especially against a country like Chile who go to the Word Cup with a lot of hope," Donnelly said.

"With 10 minutes to go I could see a few of the boys warming up and I was getting a bit edgy, not knowing if I was going to get on or not, I think I was kind of giving (head coach) Michael (O'Neill) the eyes, trying to get his attention, but I was just happy I was able to get on in the end. It was brilliant.

"I hope I've done enough in training to make Michael keep an eye on me. I think I've done well and hopefully he will consider me for the next trip, whether it's a friendly or one of the qualifying games.

"The big plan for me now is to push on and try to get into the first-team at Fulham next season. If I do that, I can make a bigger claim to be a regular in the Northern Ireland squad."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport