Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 1 (4)

Poland POL 1 (5)

REPORT

Wales WAL 1

Northern Ireland NIR 0

Full Time

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Doherty dumps Higgins out

Published 12/02/2013 | 18:36

Ken Doherty, pictured, defeated John Higgins in the BetVictor Welsh Open
Ken Doherty, pictured, defeated John Higgins in the BetVictor Welsh Open

Ken Doherty knocked John Higgins out of the BetVictor Welsh Open with a shock 4-1 win.

World number five Higgins had been in fine form on Monday at the Newport Centre, beating Gareth Allen 4-1 with breaks of 120, 99 and 97, but could not replicate that display against his fellow former world champion.

Doherty took the first two frames but Higgins won a tense third, clearing from the green to settle a low-scoring and closely-fought frame.

Doherty needed several attempts to wrap up the next frame, but finally did so by potting the final brown to move within one frame of victory.

A break of 46 put him in control in the next and Higgins' response stalled at 14 before the Irishman sealed victory.

Neil Robertson, the 2007 champion, made breaks of 71, 56 and 70 in a routine 4-1 win over Ian Burns while Mark Allen beat Marco Fu 4-2.

Stephen Maguire was in good form in a 4-2 win over Anthony Hamilton, with breaks of 89 and 100 in the early stages.

"I have played Anthony a few times this season and he has beaten me," said the Scot.

"He's a great player and he was scoring heavily at the start. It was a good match for the first four frames and then we both struggled."

Maguire will next face Matthew Stevens, a 4-2 winner over China's Liang Wenbo. Liang had beaten Ryan Day in the preliminary round but could not add a second Welsh scalp.

Sam Baird made short work of an upset win over Northern Ireland's Gerard Greene, a break of 73 wrapping up a 4-0 win for the world number 89.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport