Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


David Moyes accepts FA misconduct charge for Sunderland rant

Andy Hampson

Published 15/01/2014 | 19:07

David Moyes could face a fine after accepting a misconduct charge from the FA
David Moyes could face a fine after accepting a misconduct charge from the FA

Manchester United manager David Moyes has accepted a charge of misconduct following comments about match officials, the Football Association has confirmed.

  • Go To

Moyes will now face a fine or a warning following a disciplinary hearing, which will take place in due course and he has chosen not to attend.

Moyes was charged after speaking out in the aftermath of his side's Capital One Cup semi-final first leg loss at Sunderland last week.

The Scot said United "were playing referees as well as the opposition" after a number of decisions went against his side in the 2-1 defeat at the Stadium of Light.

Moyes suggested his side had endured a run of bad decisions, a situation he described as "terrible" and that they were "actually beginning to laugh" at.

At Sunderland, Moyes was particularly irritated by referee Andre Marriner's award of a free-kick - which United failed to defend and from which they conceded an own goal - and what proved the match-winning penalty to Sunderland.

The FA charged Moyes on the grounds that his remarks "allegedly called into question the integrity of the match officials appointed to that fixture and/or appointed to Manchester United fixtures generally, and/or implied that such match officials are motivated by bias; and/or brought the game into disrepute, in contravention of Rule E3(1)."

The matter comes a week after Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers was fined £8,000 by the FA for questioning the appointment of referee Lee Mason to his side's Boxing Day game at Manchester City.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport