Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Danny Welbeck delighted with Louis van Gaal appointment

Published 25/05/2014 | 13:36

Danny Welbeck, pictured, is looking forward to working with Louis van Gaal
Danny Welbeck, pictured, is looking forward to working with Louis van Gaal

Danny Welbeck has hailed the appointment of Louis van Gaal as Manchester United manager.

  • Go To

Welbeck considered leaving United after becoming frustrated at being played out of position under David Moyes.

But with the Scot gone, Welbeck now has a chance to prove himself under Van Gaal, and the United forward is looking forward to working under the former Barcelona, Ajax and Bayern Munich coach next season.

"I heard the news (about Van Gaal's appointment) and I am happy," said Welbeck, who scored 11 times for United last year after starting just 24 matches in all competitions.

"He is a great man, a great manager.

"Looking at his CV tells you he has managed at some big clubs."

Current Holland coach Van Gaal was named United boss on Monday, a month after Moyes was sacked.

The 62-year-old, who will be assisted by Ryan Giggs, will take over at Old Trafford when Holland's World Cup campaign ends.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport