Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Dandy makes successful start

Published 18/05/2014 | 18:22

Dandyleekie edged out Araner
Dandyleekie edged out Araner

Dandyleekie got up right on the line to foil odds-on favourite Araner in the Requinto European Breeders Fund Maiden at Navan.

The market leader bowled along with the help of the rail and looked like he might have done enough but he was was strongly pressed by Ger Lyons' newcomer through the final furlong.

The pair flashed past the post almost as one, but 16-1 chance Dandyleekie was quickly called the winner by a head in the hands of Gary Carroll.

Lyons said: "His work was always good, but we weren't sure if we were going run him as he was very weak.

"We hoped it would be a nice experience bringing him to Navan and we can build for the season from this.

"We always thought he had ability and he will be on the team for Royal Ascot now.

"Gary says he's still very weak, but it's a nice option to have. There should be masses of improvement to come and it bodes well for what we have at home."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport