Sport

Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Dan Martin forced out of Vuelta a Espana after stage seven crash

Published 31/08/2013 | 11:16

Dan Martin celebrates winning stage nine of the Tour de France earlier this year
Dan Martin celebrates winning stage nine of the Tour de France earlier this year
Dan Martin grimaces in pain as he remounts his bike after a nasty fall in yesterday's stage of the Vuelta a Espana

Irishman Dan Martin has withdrawn from the Vuelta a Espana following a crash on Friday's seventh stage.

  • Go To

The Garmin-Sharp rider, who has enjoyed a strong season which included a Tour de France stage win and victory in one-day classic Liege-Bastogne-Liege, suffered a blow to the head and pulled out prior to Saturday's eighth stage.

He will now recuperate before leading Ireland's bid for glory in the Road World Championships in Florence on September 28.

Martin, nephew of 1987 world champion Stephen Roche, wrote on Twitter: "Nothing broken, but the most painful crash (I've) ever had.

"Sad to leave the Vuelta but can't race with these bids flying round my head.

"I hit a hole or rock in the road. Down I went."

Martin also criticised race officials for compromising on rider safety.

He added: "Stunned at UCI (International Cycling Union) commisaires lack of compassion. Should concentrate on rider safety and less on UCI fundraising."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport