Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Comatose Michael Schumacher 'hit by lung infection'

Josie Esnor

Published 12/02/2014 | 22:42

Michael Schumacher
Michael Schumacher

Formula One legend Michael Schumacher, who is still lying in a coma in a French hospital, has contracted a lung infection, according to reports.

The effects on the fragile state of health of the 45-year-old were unknown, it said, the German newspaper Bild reported Wednesday.

Schumacher's spokeswoman, Sabine Kehm, told the newspaper: "We are not commenting on speculation."

Schumacher has been in a coma since his December 29 ski accident, when he badly injured his head, causing serious swelling of the brain.

The doctors treating him in the hospital in the French city of Grenoble two weeks ago said they were trying to coax him out of the coma by reducing his sedation.

Kehm said the process could take some time.

With little information being given to media, the hospital has been left to fend off rumours. Last Thursday, it had to deny speculation flaring on social networks that Schumacher had died.

It has been reported that Schumacher's wife Corinna spends hours talking to her husband at his bedside to try to help him round from his coma.

She has spoken to the seven-time world champion - who is being kept under anaesthetic at the University Hospital in France - every day without any response.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport