Sport

Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Benitez expects Mourinho to succeed him at Chelsea

Matt McGeehan

Published 07/05/2013 | 13:27

Rafael Benitez today suggested that he expects Jose Mourinho to be named his successor as Chelsea manager.

  • Go To

Interim boss Benitez again confirmed he will depart Stamford Bridge this summer at the end of his short-term contract.

Real Madrid head coach Mourinho, who left after three years as Blues boss in September 2007, has been strongly linked with a return, with a date of July 1 mooted.

"The next year there will be another manager," said Benitez, who replaced Roberto Di Matteo in November.

"I think everybody knows who will be here."

John Terry has revealed the full extent of Jose Mourinho's continued grip on Chelsea by admitting the pair regularly exchange text messages regarding the club.

Terry said that the former Chelsea manager was still "The Special One" in his eyes and gave a possible summer return his seal of approval by claiming the Portuguese was a "top manager who I really enjoyed working under".

Mourinho is certain to leave Real Madrid this summer after the Spanish club missed out at home and in Europe this season and the speculation linking him with a second spell at Chelsea is only likely to intensify following this high-profile intervention from such a senior figure at Stamford Bridge.

Terry, who has fallen out of favour with interim manager Rafael Benítez, also used the interview to lavish praise on Mourinho's man-management style.

"He's still 'The Special One'", Terry told Spanish newspaper Marca.

"We send each other text messages and often wish each other good luck. He's interested in our results and everything that happens at the club. He's not only in contact with me but also with (Frank) Lampard and other players.

"He's been winning titles at Real for three years and he has the chance to win the Copa del Rey this season. All I can say is that he's a top manager who I really enjoyed working under

"He always thought about the squad, not just the starting-eleven. He explained things to you, also when you weren't playing and demanded everything from you. We worked hard and we could also talk to him about personal problems. He was a friend. We were all sad when he left."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport