Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Belle excites Qatar team

Published 09/08/2014 | 19:35

Beach Belle, left, landed the opening juvenile maiden of the year in March before following up with a Listed success in June
Beach Belle, left, landed the opening juvenile maiden of the year in March before following up with a Listed success in June

Beach Belle makes her debut in the Qatar Racing silks when she takes her chance in a top-notch renewal of the Keeneland Phoenix Stakes at the Curragh.

  • Go To

Sheikh Fahad Al Thani's operation snapped up a half-share in the Invincible Spirit filly, who was formerly owned solely by Lady O'Reilly.

The exciting Kevin Prendergast-trained youngster has won both her starts this term, landing the opening juvenile maiden of the year back in March before following up with a Listed success at Naas in June.

Qatar Racing's David Redvers reports this race to have been in Prendergast's sights for quite some time now.

He said: "A mixture of form and homework would lead us to think she's one of the major players this year - that's the reason we have invested in her. She's a gorgeous filly with a gorgeous pedigree and she has got plenty of speed.

"This has always been Kevin's target for her and he's always said he is not concerned by what else runs in the race, so let's hope he is right."

Qatar Racing also have an admirable type in Capella Sansevero, who will be aiming to bounce back from a disappointing effort in the Railway Stakes.

He was only fifth that day, but trainer Ger Lyons subsequently admitted he made a mistake in running him again so soon after claiming second behind The Wow Signal in the Coventry Stakes at Royal Ascot.

"He just bounced - he came back too quickly. Ger was kicking himself afterwards, but these things happen sometimes," Redvers said.

"His Ascot run is probably some of the smartest two-year-old form seen this year. Ger is sure he deserves his place in this race, so hopefully we will see the horse that ran at Ascot this time rather than the horse that ran at the Curragh.

"He is versatile, so the ground would not be a worry."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport