Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Asafa Powell's doping hearing adjourned after two days

Published 15/01/2014 | 23:23

Jamaica's Asafa Powell l
Jamaica's Asafa Powell l

Former 100 metres world record holder Asafa Powell must wait for the conclusion of the doping case against him after a two-day hearing in his native Jamaica was adjourned, reports said.

Powell failed a drugs test at the Jamaica national trials last June, when the banned substance oxilofrine (methylsynephrine) showed up in his system.

Powell, 31, is battling to clear his name of a deliberate offence and has faced the Jamaica Anti-Doping Commission (JADCO) on Tuesday and Wednesday in Kingston.

The Jamaica Observer newspaper reported on Wednesday evening that Powell's case had over-run its allocated two days and would resume on February 12 and 13.

Powell's fellow Jamaican sprinter Sherone Simpson also faced a JADCO hearing last week, and that case too over-ran and will reopen next month, on February 4.

Powell has won gold medals in the 4x100m relay at the Olympics and World Championships and held the 100m world record before his compatriot Usain Bolt.

He ran 9.88 seconds last year, but failed to make the Jamaican team for the World Championships.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport