Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Art spoils Australia's day

Published 30/06/2013 | 15:02

Renaissance Art makes the best of his way home
Renaissance Art makes the best of his way home

Aidan O'Brien's highly touted newcomer Australia had to settle for second on his racecourse debut behind Renaissance Art in the Barronstown Stud EBF (C&G) Maiden at the Curragh.

But the even-money favourite, who is a son of Galileo out of the great racemare Ouija Board, can be considered most unlucky, as he lost four or five lengths at the start when totally missing the break from the stalls.

Joseph O'Brien's mount made up lots of ground from the quarter-mile pole, but the Jim Bolger-trained Renaissance Art, who was also having his first start, hung on under Kevin Manning to prevail by a diminishing neck as a 10-1 chance.

Both colts earned 25-1 quotes from Paddy Power for next season's 2000 Guineas.

O'Brien snr said of Australia: "We're delighted with him. He came out of the stalls five minutes too late, that's the only thing that went wrong. We thought the world of him before and he could go anywhere now."

Ger Flynn, representing Bolger, said of the winner: "Kevin was delighted with him and said he'll improve bundles. He's still a baby and he's still learning. We're very happy with him and he's a very nice colt. Kevin said it rode like a very good race."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport