Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Antrim's second half surge sees them past Westmeath

Published 05/05/2013 | 17:31

Antrim's Tony McCloskey in action against Alan McGrath
Antrim's Tony McCloskey in action against Alan McGrath

Antrim produced a strong second half performance to beat Westmeath by 3-18 to 2-13 in the preliminary round of the Leinster Hurling Championship in Mullingar.

Westmeath led by two points at half-time but missed a second half penalty before the Saffrons converted one of their own and they never looked back.

Antrim qualify to play Laois in the first round of the Leinster championship on May 18.

The game got off to a very even opening with both sides hurling well.

Antrim had built up a three point lead but Niall O'Brien's goal then had the sides level.

The Saffrons immediately hit back with a goal of their own from Neil McManus but then Westmeath began getting the upper hand in the first half.

Points from Brendan Murtagh and Derek McNicholas in the latter stages of the half saw Westmeath lead 1-9 to 1-7 at the break.

Eoin Price pointed and Derek McNicholas had his penalty knocked over the bar as Westmeath stretched their advantage.

Antrim were then awarded a penalty of their own and Neil McManus showed how it's done as he blasted to the net.

Jackson McGreevy levelled matters before McCloskey put the Saffrons in front.

Karl Stewart then saw red for Antrim and Paul Shiels and McNaughton helped them to a three point lead.

Westmeath's numerical advantage didn't last long as Derek McNicholas was sent off for a second bookable offence.

Conor Carson's goal put Antrim in control and despite the fact that Tommy Doyle's late goal gave Westmeath a slim chance, Antrim regrouped and ran out deserved eight point winners.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport