Friday 24 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Annie back in winning groove

Published 03/05/2014 | 16:22

Annie Power, right, eased home in the Irish Stallion Farms EBF Mares Champion Hurdle by seven lengths
Annie Power, right, eased home in the Irish Stallion Farms EBF Mares Champion Hurdle by seven lengths

Annie Power emphatically returned to winning ways in the Irish Stallion Farms EBF Mares Champion Hurdle at Punchestown.

The Willie Mullins-trained six-year-old's spotless record was ended when she finished second in the World Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival, but she reminded everyone of her talents back on home territory and back against her own sex.

Sent off the 1-6 favourite down in trip over two and a quarter miles, Annie Power made all the running under Ruby Walsh, who extended his advantage at the top of the home straight. Runner-up Jennies Jewel gave chase, but it was all in vain and she finished seven lengths in arrears, with British raider Cockney Sparrow a disappointing last of five.

Mullins said: "Ruby wanted to be bold and jumped out and let her go on. She was hanging off the rails a bit, which was a bit of a concern, but she's not raced right-handed that much.

"We didn't put in the earplugs today, either, so that could also be a reason for her hanging.

"We'll probably give her a break now as she's had a hard enough season. I'd love to see her jump those French hurdles, but she's possibly done enough travelling this season."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport