Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA 2

Rep of Ireland IRL 1

REPORT

Germany GER 3

Slovakia SVK 0

Full Time

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00


Andros Townsend facing lengthy lay-off after suffering hamstring injury

Published 19/12/2013 | 12:07

Andros Townsend
Andros Townsend

Andros Townsend is likely to miss to miss Tottenham Hotspur's entire Christmas period after he sustained a hamstring injury during the 2-1 home defeat by West Ham United in the Capital One Cup on Thursday.

The England international pulled up after 72 minutes of Thursday's match and Tim Sherwood, Spurs's caretaker manager, confirmed that injury is likely to keep the 22-year-old out for a considerable time.

"It looked like he pulled up with a hamstring," Sherwood said.

The news will be a blow for Roy Hodgson, the England manager, with other key members of his likely starting XI such as Steven Gerrard and Daniel Sturridge also currently missing through injury, though Hodgson recently suggested that he would rather his players get injured now, giving them an enforced winter break, than closer to next summer's World Cup in Brazil.

Townsend is likely to be out for three weeks meaning he will miss Premier League matches against Southampton, West Bromwich Albion, Stoke City, Manchester United and Crystal Palace as well as the FA Cup third round tie at Arsenal.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport