Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


American Football star Michael Sam comes out as gay before the NFL Draft

Published 10/02/2014 | 11:43

Missouri Tigers defensive lineman Michael Sam (52) reacts after a victory last year
Missouri Tigers defensive lineman Michael Sam (52) reacts after a victory last year
Missouri Tigers defensive lineman Michael Sam (52) celebrates a victory last year

University of Missouri defensive linesman Michael Sam has confirmed his is gay ahead of the NFL Draft.

"I came to tell the world that I'm an openly, proud gay man," Sam said today in interviews with ESPN's "Outside the Lines" and the New York Times.

If he is drafted he will become the first openly gay player to play in the NFL.

"I want to own my truth," the 24-year-old said.

"Two weeks ago at The Senior Bowl I didn't realize how many people actually knew, and I was afraid that someone would tell or leak something out about me or tell a story. I just wanted to control the situation and tell my story."

"It's a load off my chest.

"I told my teammates this past August that I came out to my teammates, and they took it great. They rallied around me, they supported me, and I couldn't have asked for better teammates."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport