Masters of the sea honoured at sailing club's annual dinner

Published 19/12/2012 | 18:52

Members of the victorious HydroGin boat team.

A FUN evening of great food, great music, great companionship and great craic was had as Wicklow Sailing Club held its annual dinner.

Orlagh Cunningham, virtually single-handedly, provided a magnificent meal of delicious food, with the ever-present and diligent Gerry Nolan providing back-up. Kerrie Gill ran the bar in her usual most pleasant and efficient manner and Mick Lacey and friends provided some really good music.

The club also recently held its annual prizegiving evening in the clubhouse. The awards on the prize giving night went to the following; Club Persons of the Year, Roisin Hennessy and Dave Ballesty; Outstanding Sailor of the Year, Brian Flahive; Cruiser Section, Spring Sunday League, 1st HydroGin, 2nd Bilbo, 3rd Gaelic Knight; Spring Midweek League, 1st Ruffage, 2nd Hydrogin, 3rd Two Step; Summer Sunday League, 1st Hydrogin, 2nd Gaelic Knight, 3rd Calypso; Summer Midweek League, 1st Baleteur, 2nd Hydrogin, 3rd Scamp; Autumn Sunday League, 1st Ruffage, 2nd Hydrogin, 3rd Flash; Autumn Midweek League, 1st Flash, 2nd Hydrogin, 3rd Bilbo; Regatta League, 1st Flash, 2nd Hydrogin, 3rd Two Step; Overall Midweek, 1st Hydrogin, 2nd Bilbo, 3rd Two Step; Trophy Races, Arklow Race for the J.F. Shine Trophy: 1st Flash; South India / North India for the Grand Hotel Trophy, 1st Gaelic Knight, 2nd Cracker, 3rd HydroGin; Greystones Racefor the D. McCullagh trophy, 1st Flash, 2nd Bilbo, 3rd Ruffage; Horseshoe Race for the Corby Rock Trophy, 1st Gaelic Knight, 2nd Bateleur, 3rd Two Step; North Arklow / South India Marks for the ITV Rentals Trophy, 1st HydroGin, 2nd Flash, 3rd Two Step; Regatta Feeder Race for the B.V. Reilly Trophy, 1st HydroGin, 2nd Flash, 3rd Two Step; West Codling Race for the G. Haughton Trophy, 1st Calypso, 2nd Bilbo, 2rd Ruffage; Best Wicklow Boat in Regatta for the Jennifer Cup, 1st Flash; Best Wicklow Boat on Club Handicap for the Michael Jones Trophy, 1st Flash; Regatta Class 2 for the Class 2 Cup, 1st Cracker; Mini Regatta for the Quinnsworth Trophy, 1st Hydrogin, 2nd Showtime, 3rd Flash; Commodore's Cup, 1st Ruffage, 2nd Hydrogin, 3rd Bilbo; Most Improved Boat for the Effex Cup, Two Step; Ruffian League for the Noonan Trophy, 1st Bilbo, 2nd Ruffage, 3rd Scamp; Best Club Boat, 1st HydroGin, 2nd Flash, 3rd Bilbo; Dinghy Section: Powerboat Certificates awarded to; Kelly Bolger, Rosa Cahnn, Eoin Foley, Rory O'Carroll, Fergus Summers, Eric Swaine; Certificates of Merit awarded to Isobel O'Grady, Cian Redmond, Derrell Marshall, Cian Dowd, Declan Kickham, Rory O'Carroll, Hanna Blake, Alfie Heather, Murray Kennedy, Kieran Fitzgerald, Aishling McGrane, Kate Hennessy; Certificates of Excellence awarded to: Luke Harrington, Ryan Fitzgerald, Sam Hennessy, Cillian Ballesty,Luke Murphy; Trophies: Bank of Ireland Cup, Cillian Ballesty; South Rock Cup, Rory O'Carroll; Cadet Cup, Sam Hennessy; StainlessTrophy, Hannah Blake

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

GrabOne Deals