Wednesday 1 October 2014

Flynn's goal seals second success for Rathnure

Published 20/05/2014 | 05:42

  • Share

BRENDAN FLYNN'S goal six minutes from the end was decisive as it helped Rathnure to a deserved three-point victory over Crossabeg-Ballymurn in this Top Oil Intermediate 'A' hurling championship Group A game at Oylegate on Sunday last.

  • Share
  • Go To

Although Niall Murphy opened the scoring after two minutes, Rathnure went on to dominate the opening quarter through points from Brendan Flynn, Colin Flynn and a couple of Stephen Furlong frees.

Crossabeg-Ballymurn came much more into the game in the second quarter with Niall Murphy particularly prominent, getting back level on 0-6 each through points from Pádraig Foley (free), Niall Murphy (free and play) and Eoghan Kehoe (two).

Rathnure who closed out the first-half scoring with points from Anthony Westnott, Stephen Furlong (free) and Billy Conran to lead by 0-9 to 0-6 at the interval.

On the resumption Stephen Furlong (free) and Niall Murphy exchanged points, but with Furlong continuing to show accuracy from frees, Rathnure had edged into a 0-13 to 0-9 lead when Brendan Flynn slipped inside the defence six minutes from the end to fire low to the net.

Crossabeg-Ballymurn may have pressed strongly in the closing minutes but their goal from a well-struck Pádraig Foley 21-metre free one minute into additional time just proved a consolation effort.

Rathnure: Kyle Byrne; Colin Flynn, Shane Barron, Paul Holohan; Mickey Joe O'Connor, Teddy O'Connor (0-1 free), Brian Quigley; Stephen Furlong (0-9, 7 frees, 1 '65), M.J. Murphy; Eoin Higgins, Billy Conran (0-1), Brendan Flynn (1-1); Anthony Westnott (0-1), Shane Furlong, Jamie O'Connell. Subs. - Ciarán O'Connor for Murphy, James Flynn (0-1) for Shane Furlong.

Crossabeg-Ballymurn: Mark Dempsey; Paul Roche, Billy Roche, Matty Sludds; Alan Byrne, Pádraig Foley (1-2, 1-1 frees), T.J. Parle; Declan Byrne, Conor Devereux; David Murphy, Eoghan Kehoe (0-2), Bill Eviston; David Jackman, Niall Murphy (0-7, 3 frees), Mark Campbell. Sub. - Conor Shovlin for Jackman.

Referee: Aiden O'Brien (Cloughbawn).

Wexford People

Read More

GrabOne Deals