Tuesday 30 September 2014

Micheál enters the GAA Hall of Fame

Published 08/04/2014 | 05:40

  • Share
Sligo's Micheál Kearins and Kerry's Mick O'Dwyer pictured as they were inducted into the Croke Park Museum Hall of Fame.

SLIGO GAA legend Micheál Kearins has been inducted to the Croke Park Hall of Fame.

  • Share
  • Go To

The Yeats County great joined Kerry's Mick O'Dwyer, Waterford hurler Pat McGrath and Kilkenny's Noel Skehan in receiving the honour at the Association's Museum.

GAA President Liam O'Neill said: "It is a great honour to welcome Micheál and his fellow outstanding GAA ambassadors into our Museum Hall of Fame.

"It is difficult to think of more fitting men for the award."

Kearins was instrumental in Sligo winning the Connacht Senior Championship for the first time in 47 years in 1975.

In the provincial semi-final against Galway, he scored 10 points.

In 1971, he became the first Sligo player to be awarded an All Star, when he was selected at left-half forward in the inaugural All Star Football Team.

Micheál is rightly regarded as one of the greatest forwards to all time. He played his first game for sligo at minor level in 1960 against Galway.

He made his senior inter-county debut in 1961.

Micheál played senior inter-county football with Sligo for 18 consecutive years.

He scored 36 goals and 1,158 points in 215 games.

Micheál represented Connacht on the Railway Cup team from 1963 until 1975. He won Railway Cup meals in 1967 and 1969.

In 1984, he was named in the special selection GAA Centenary Football team. It comprised of players who had never won an All-Ireland Senior Championship medal.

Sligo Champion

Read More

GrabOne Deals