Tuesday 23 September 2014

St Michael's stage a great comeback in Minor B final

Published 15/10/2013 | 05:40

  • Share
St Michael's captain, Killian Harte, receives the Minor B trophy from County Minor Board Chairman, Brendan Leonard.

St. Michael's staged a great comeback in an exciting Minor B Championship final at Markievicz Park on Saturday to edge out a gallant St. Pat's team.

  • Share
  • Go To

St. Michaels got a great boost in the first half when Killian Harte blasted a penalty to the back of the net but Pat's gradually settled into the game.

Jack Egan and Cian Lacken began to get on top in midfield and the highly impressive Niall Connolly clocked up a number of excellent scores.

As the game ebbed and flowed, St. Michael's replied with scores from Ryan Clancy (2) and Jack Mackey.

Pat's stepped up the pace towards the end of the first half with Connolly a constant threat to the Michael's defence.

He added on four more points to bring his first half tally to seven and Jack Egan and Cian Lacken also got on the scoresheet for the West division outfit.

That gave St. Pat's a 0-10 to 1-4 lead at the end of a great first half and they seemed well placed to go on and take the title.

And they further imposed their authority on the game with the opening three points in the second period.

St. Michael's had no intention of throwing in the towel, however, and set about reducing the deficit in determined fashion.

A point by Harte kep them in touch and then a great goal from Ronan McKeon gave the revival added momentum.

At the other end, Pat's clocked up three further scores, which appeared to kill off the St. Michael's comeback.

But the East division boys refused to give in and a goal by Clancy gave them the platform to take control in the closing stages.

Points by Harte and Mackey put them in front and they went on to make sure of a thrilling victory with further scores from Harte (2) and Clancy.

ST. MICHAEL'S: K Crawley, P McGoldrick, J Boles, O Gilmartin, J Hran, M Kelly, G McGowan, J Mackey (0-2), C Clancy (1-4), R Clancy, R McKeon (1-0), K Harte (1-5), G Baker.

ST. PAT'S: C Cadden, C Kearins, E Clarke, B Martin, PJ Farrell, D Kilcullen, D Mahon, J Egan (0-1), C Lackey, C O'Lachlain (0-3), C Giblin, F McCrann, N Connolly (0-12). Sub: A Cadden

REFEREE: P Golden, Ballymote.

Sligo Champion

Read More

GrabOne Deals