Tuesday 17 October 2017

Castleconnor win inspired by McDonnell

Ciaran Kilcullen, captain, Castleconnor, receives the Minor A2 trophy from Minor Board Chairman, Brendan Leonard.
Ciaran Kilcullen, captain, Castleconnor, receives the Minor A2 trophy from Minor Board Chairman, Brendan Leonard.

Castleconnor had the final say in this year's minor championships as they eased to victory over Coolaney/Mullinabreena in the A" decider at Markievicz Park on Sunday.

County senior panel member, Kevin McDonnell, drove Castleconnor on impressively throughout the match while county minor,Stephen Curley and Matthew Cullen were also key players.

There was only a point between the sides at the interval with the West Sligo side leading 1-8 to 1-7.

But it was a different story after the break as Castleconnor took complete control to overwhelm a gallant South Sligo outfit.

Castleconnor got off to a great start with a goal and three points in the opening quarter.

The goal came in the 12th minute as Matthew Culen flicked the ball to the net after a clever pass from Curley created the chance.

However, Coolaney/Mullinabreena replied in stunning fashion, clocking jup a goal and six points without reply.

The impressive Conor Doyle got a number of vital scores while Nathan Mullen grabbed the goal which turned the game on its head.

Castleconnor hadn't scored in 18 minutes at that stage but they regrouped in the latter stages of the half to register four unanswered points.

That gave them a one point advantage at the interval.

Curley and Eoin McDonagh exchanged points at the start of the second period but the West division side gradually took over, with McDonnell a prominent figure.

McDonnell and Curley were the main scorers as they pulled away to record a well-deserved win.

Castleconnor: S Durkin, C Judge, C Gallagher, C Barrins, E Kent, J O'Hora, C Klcullen, K McDonnell (0-5), S Wright (0-2), J Earlis, K Foody (0-1),S Curley (0-6), M Cullen (1-3). Subs: S Carrabine (0-2) for Kilcullen, J Flynn for O'Hora.

Coolaney/Mullinabreena: C Finan, P Gorman, K Gannon, K Kirrane, E Burke, B Doddy, E McDonagh (0-2), S Connolly (0-2), B Connolly, C Doyle (0-5), N Mullen (1-0), S Middleton, N O'Dowd. Subs: G Feely for S Middleton, E Gorman for Mullen, J Gormley for B Connolly.

Referee: R Dillon

Sligo Champion Comments Facility

INM has taken the decision to remove the commenting facility on its online platform to minimise the legal risk to our business that arises from Ireland's draconian libel awards system.

We continue to look forward to receiving comments through direct email contact or via social media, some of which may still be featured on the website