Wednesday 1 March 2017

County GAA convention postponed

THE SLIGO County GAA Convention which was due to be held tonight, Tuesday, is to be rescheduled.

Outgoing Chairman Cyril Feehily has said this is to allow more time to complete the audit of the 2011-2012 accounts-as per rule.

"Sligo County Board regrets any inconvenience caused by this change which is necessary in order to abide by the GAA official guide 2012," the Chairman said in a statement. The Convention will now be rescheduled to a later date.

A contest for the position of Chairman of the County Board between Mr. Feehily and former Chairman, Joe Queenan, is set to dominate this year's Convention. Mr. Queenan was Chairman for nine years from 1996 to 2004.

Mr. Feehily was selected as Chairman in 2010 and won an election against St. Michael's Joe Taaffe to retain the post last year. He is bidding for a third successive term.

While the contest for the Chair will grab much of the attention, there will be changes to the make-up of the County Executive for 2013, as the five-year rule means that a number of existing members must step down.

Chief among them is County Secretary, Padraig Duffy.

There are three nominees to succeed him as his term ends. They are Board na NOg Secretary, John Neiland, Bernadine McGauran and outgoing PRO, Gerry O'Connor, who also steps down under the five-year rule.

Development Officer, Michael Leonard, also steps down.

The nominees for PRO are former Chairman, John Murphy, and Maurice Sweeney, while John McPartland(Snr), Joe Taaffe and Lauri Quinn are nominated for the position of Development Officer. Assistant Secretary, Jonathan Davey, is another stepping down and there are two nominees for the postCathal Martyn and Keith Henry.

With outgoing Assistant Treasurer Seamus Cronin moving to the Treasurer's post, Michael Leonard and Joe Taaffe are nominated for his former role.

Elsewhere, Peadar Neiland is expected to become Coaching Officer, with the second nominee, Mattie Coleman, not likely to contest the position. Outoing Irish and Cultural Officer, Bernadine McGauran, is again nominated with Peter Farrell likely to withdraw.

Joe Queenan, Padraig Duffy and Richard Brennan are the nominees for Connacht Council rep, with the outgoing Tommy Kilcoyne nominated for Ard Comhairle.

Walter Kivlehan, Padraig Duffy and Eamonn Mullen are nominated as Connacht Convention representatives, with Eamonn Mullen and John Murphy nominated to join the Chairman and Secretary at Annual Congress.

One of the more interesting motions comes from Sligo town club, St. Mary's.

They are asking that one of the County Board's Games Promotion Officers be given a full-time role in the urban area to work on coaching and games promotion in the city area. The St. Mary's submission says : "The game within the urban area is suffering and needs greater attention, particularly now that soccer is receiving a boost from the success of Sligo Rovers."

Read More

Promoted articles