Monday 22 September 2014

Rally drivers rewarded for their brilliance behind the wheel

Padraig Byrne

Published 21/01/2014 | 05:38

  • Share
At the Wexford Motor Club awardsnight in The Riverbank House Hotel on Saturday night were Chantelle Egan and Fran Kelly

RALLY crews travelled from all over the country to The Riverbank House hotel recently as Wexford Motor Club hosted the awards night for the Triton Showers South East Stages Rally Championship.

  • Share
  • Go To

The championship took place all through 2013 and involved Wexford, Carlow, Carrig on Suir and Tipperary Motor Clubs, taking in stages all over the South East and Munster.

'The championship is a total of seven rounds,' said Pat O'Dowd, secretary of Wexford Motor Club. 'They would be a mixture of forest and tarmac and it attracts entries from all over Leinster and Munster and even from as far as Northern Ireland – we had a couple of entries from Tyrone this year.'

The different motor clubs take it in turns to host the annual awards ceremony and this year it was Wexford who had the honour. A total of six crews from Wexford Motor Club claimed awards on the night.

In Class 3 for cars up to 1650cc, Stephen Scallon and Paul Furlong managed to come second, while Richard Cleary and Niamh Holland finished just behind them in third. James Stafford and Amy Ryan were delighted to finish first in Class 5 for cars up to 2500cc, while Johnny Murphy and Martin Nolan finished third and Eoin Neville and Tommy Cuddihy came fifth.

Finally in the junior section, Tonya Fortune and Dan King managed to finish as runners up in second place.

'It was a great night,' Pat said. 'We had about 150 people turn up on the night from all over the country and everybody really enjoyed themselves.' Wexford Motor Club currently has about 160 members and they are all already counting down to the club's major annual event, The Wexford Rally, next September.

New Ross Standard

Read More

GrabOne Deals