Tuesday 24 May 2016


Published 06/11/2012 | 18:52

COMMUNITY GAMES AGM: The Clonroche Poulpeasty Community Games AGM took place on 25th October in Clonroche.

Chairperson Jim Butler opened the meeting by thanking the primary schools, the GAA, soccer clubs, and the hall committees for all the help throughout the year. Marie Asple the outgoing secretary gave her report on the achievements of the club for the year and wished the incoming committee the very best for the next year.

The newly elected officers for the coming year are as follows: Chairperson- Jim Butler, Vice Chair- David Dole Murphy, Secretaries- Ciara Kehoe and Sarah Doyle ,Treasurer- Lelia Kavanagh, Assistant treasurer- Emma Cleare, PROMichaela Doyle Murphy, Nora Muldoonchildren's officer and Martin Murphy and David Doyle Murphy- Development Officer.

A discussion took place on the draft proposal of the 2013 National Finals . The National Finals have now been broken into two weekends, one in June and one in August. These will be four day events as opposed to the two day events we usually have taking place. new games have been introduced this year including duathlon (running and cycling), one wall handball and debating. Those interested in taking part in any competition should note that the age groups have changed significantly.

Reminder: Registration forms for young people have been made available through the schools and are due back by Friday 9th November.

A Youth Committee is being set up within Clonroche Poulpeasty Community Games, for people who are now overage to compete. Anyone interested in taking part in any way should go to the first meeting on Tuesday 13th November or contact Michaela Doyle Murphy for further information.


The following lands or parts of are preserved by Cloughbawn and District GPA. Shooting is for paid up members only. All members carry membership cards. Open days and sanctuary made known to members.

Poulpeasty, Forrestalstown, Clonroche, Killegney, Tominearly, Knoxtown, Raheenduff, Donard, Rathturtin, Rathfardon, Coolaught, Tomfarney, Palace, Raheen, Castleboro Ballyboro, Knockredmond, Meelgarrow, Coolbawn, Clonleigh, Chapel, Courtnacuddy, Ballinvega, Townamalogue, Ballymackessy, Coolnacun, Coolrue, Forrestwood, Moneyamough, Askinfarney, Ballygalvert.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank landowners for their co-operation throughout the year.

Notice to landowners: it is policy of Cloughbawn GPA that all its members are covered by IFA insurance while hunting and shooting on your land. Any Enquires please contact Secretary Myles Somers 087 2877979.

Prizes for Longest Cock were presented in The Cloch Ban on Thursday night November 1st. Mick Kavanagh was the winner again this year, with Michael Joyce in second place and Edward Denton in 3rd. Thanks to John Jude and Anna and the Cloch Ban for all their help and cooperation during the year.


The Annual General Meeting of Clonroche Development Association will take place in Clonroche Community Centre on Monday 12th November at 8pm. This is an ideal opportunity for interested persons to play their part in the furthering the progress of the community by attending, expressing their views and possibly seeking election to the committee.


We are looking for a group of parents willing to form a Youth Club Committee in order to get the Club up and running. Remember parents support is vital for the Club!! Raheen Family Resource Centre will be providing the necesary support in the formation of the Club giving training parents to set and run the club by themselves. For further information ps contact Carmen 0857472537.


Eddie Dreelan captured the Player of The Year for 2012 with a massive 162pts. Eddie will be trying to achieve a 3-in-a-row of Player of the Year in 2013. Michael Kehoe was 2nd with 154pts and Nickey Walsh was 3rd on 135pts. Congrats Eddie.

The Boro Inn Trophy Competition took place in Kellerig on Sunday 28th October. Martin Bradley won with 41pts, followed by Martin Walsh with 38pts, Michael Kehoe came 3rd with 38pts, Sean Doyle was 4th on 35pts and John Dreelan 5th on 34pts.Tom Murphy and Eddie Dreelan won Nearest the Pin and Michael Kehoe won the Longest Drive.


The AGM of the club will be held on Friday 16th November at 8.00pm in the GAA Complex, Nomination papers will be issued shortly, please return to Sectretary Margaret Byrne by November 12th

GAA Club newsThe AGM of Cloughbawn club will be held on Friday 23rd November at 8pm in the complex. Coiste Na Nog will hold their AGM on Wednesday 28th November at 8pm, also in the complex.

well done to the U16 hurling and football teams who recently captured not one but two county championships. Their first great win was played in terrilble conditions in St Patricks Park beating Oylegate in a close game with Cloughbawn pulling ahead in the last few minutes showing great heart and determination in bad conditions Captain Ronan Doyle accepted the cup for the team, well done also to their managers David Doyle Murphy and Gavin Murphy.

Playing conditions were much better on Saturday 29th October when again in Patrick Park the lads faced Oylegate. In a game of tight marking, this match was again an epic battle with both side exchanging points and goals keeping within a few points of each other throughout the game. Oylegate score a goal in extra time bringing the sides level, but it was Cloughbawn captain Robert Kinsella who snatched the winning point late in injury time to secure another win over Oylegate.

Well done to a great bunch of lads ,the majority duel players. well done to manager Syl Murphy, mentors PJ Dempsey, Paddy Connors, Padraig Murray, Physical Trainer Kevin Bolger

Read More

Promoted articles