Wins put Castlegregory, Castleisland and Ballyhar among the leaders in Premier B and Division 1A

Published 05/12/2012 | 09:36

The Asdee Rovers U-11 schoolboy soccer team pictured with their coach, Eric O'Neill, before their league game against Castleisland on Saturday. Photo by John Reidy

DENNY PREMIER B Castlegregory 3 AC Athletic 2 CASTLEGREGORY are moving into a title challenging position and took the three points against AC Athletic in a good competitive game. Alan Fitzgerald was on the mark twice for the winners while Maurice Slattery scored the other goal.

The West Kerry side are now five points behind the leaders Asdee Rovers with a game in hand.

Best for the winners were Brandon Hoare Brian Ciepierski, Michael John Flynn and Kenneth Clifford who mas making his debut for the club.

John Mike Dooley was the AC

scorer one from the penalty spot.

DENNY DIVISION 1A Shannon Wanderers 1 Castleisland 4 CASTLEISLAND moved three points clear at the top of the table with a comfortable win over Shannon Wanderers.

Veteran striker Pa O'Rouke showed he still has the Midas touch when it comes to scoring goals bagging yet another hat trick for the islanders, while Pierse Brosnan completed the scoring for the winners.

Their most impressive players were goalie Gary O'Sullivan, Connie O'Rourke, and Tommy Feehan. Morgan Sheehy scored for

Shannon Wanderers. QPR 0 Ballyhar Dynamos 4 BALLYHAR are beginning to make their presense felt in the division after another good win this time over QPR.

The first half of this game was very competitive and the sides went in scoreless at half time. However, a four-goal blitz between the 60th and 70th minute put the game to bed for Ballyhar with Pat Kissane, John Daly, Owen O'Sullivan and Mike Daly getting the goals.

Best for the winners were Colm O'Shea, Pat Browne, Anthony McKenna, Steven Moloney and John Hayes.

Ballyhar are now in a comfortable fifth place in the division and if they can win their three games in hand they will be breathing down the necks of the leaders Castleisland.

DENNY DIVISION 1B Sneem Santos 2 Balloonagh FC 2 BALLOONAGH droppd two points at the top of the table when they were held to a 2-2 draw by Sneem Santos. Milan Beno and Thomas Curran were the Sneem scorers. Listowel Celtic 2 Ballyheigue FC 1 LISTOWEL Celtic have leapfrogged LB Rovers to move into second place behind Balloonagh after victory over Ballyheigue in a hard fought game. Kevin Dillon and Declan Mawe were the Celtic scorers. Damian Casey scored for Ballyheigue.

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

GrabOne Deals