Serving up a treat at night of celebration

Marisa Reidy

Published 30/04/2014 | 05:36

Clodagh Culloty, Michelle McCarthy, Niamh O’Connor and Jade Moynihan. RIGHT: Aisling and Mag Flaherty.
Brid Murphy, Castleisland; Maeve Twomey, Killarney and Helen Twomey, Glenflesk at the Kerry badminton awards at the Ballyroe Heights Hotel.
Aisling and Mag Flaherty at the Kerry Badminton awards at the Ballyroe heights hotel. Photo by Eye Focus LTD

THE ladies and gents from Kerry's 11 badminton clubs celebrated the end of another hugely successful season on Friday night when they gathered at Ballyroe Heights Hotel for their annual prize-giving social.

Over 170 players, mentors, coaches and supporters attended the Kerry Badminton Association's annual gala function, which was organised this year by the Moyvane club to pay tribute to those who have brought success to their respective clubs throughout the year.

On the night, awards were presented to the winners and runners up in the singles, doubles and mixed competitions from division one to five, as well as those who won the mixed leagues this season.

Kerry Badminton Association secretary, Peggy Horan, was also honoured with the Chairman's Special Merit Award on the night for her contribution to Kerry badminton in her 10 years as county secretary.

After a superb night of celebration on Friday night, there was more good news for the badminton fraternity on Sunday afternoon when it emerged that two mixed league teams from the Moyvane club had won Division Three and Four Munster championship titles. The teams will now compete for All Ireland honours in Dublin on May 10.


Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

GrabOne Deals