Over 200 take part in juvenile badminton singles championship


WHAT an absolutely wonderful, absorbing occasion it proved to be at the Sweeney's Costcutter, Tralee, sponsored juvenile singles County Championship programme which took place at the Killarney Sports Centre on Saturday last where almost 200 competitors took part in both the girls and boys events.

Certainly the game of badminton proved to be alive and well within the Kingdom of Kerry in Killarney on Saturday last with so many youthful enthusiastic disciples displaying their passion and exuberance for the sport in the heat of battle for County Championship glory. Results Boys Under-11 Winner Sean Kennedy (Annascaul) Finalist Dylan Geaney (Dingle) Under-13 Winner Killian Falvey (Annascaul ) Finalist Gearoid Lyne (Annascaul) Under-15 Winner Jonathan Keane (Kingdom, Castleisland) Finalist James Flaherty (Moyvane) Under-17 Winner Joe Coulson (Moyvane) Finalist Fionn O'Regan (Dingle) Girls Under-11 Winner Ciara O'Mahoney (Killarney) Finalist Rachel O'Connor (Annascaul) Under-13 Winner Sonia Smith (Killarney) Finalist Sarah Partington (Dingle) Under-15 Winner Sarah Barry (County, Tralee) Finalist Rachel O'Connor (Dingle) Under-17 Winner Niamh Hickey (Killarney) Finalist Sophie Smith (Killarney) Under-11 Boys Plate Winner Alan Casey (Killarney Finalist Cathal Donovan (Annascaul)

Munster Juvenile Inter-county

The Munster Inter County series will be played in Limericks U.L sports Centre on Sunday next and the Kingdom will field teams in the under 11-13 and 15 year old age groups.

The Kerry badminton Association owe juvenile coach, Mr. Bill Lacey a deep debt of thanks for the time and effort he has given to juvenile badminton within the County and wish him and his charges every success on Sunday next. Kerry teams Under-11: Ciara O'Mahony, Edel O'Brien (Killarney) Rachel O'Connor, Eimear O'Connor, Sean Kennedy and Kevin Griffin (Annascaul) Caragh O'Neill (County, Tralee) Dylan Geaney (Dingle) Sean Mulvihill (Kingdom, Castleisland).

Under-13: Killian Falvey, Colm Moriarty, Gearoid Lyne, Gavin McCarthy (Annascaul) Fionn O'Regan, Niamh Browne (Dingle) Rachel Campbell (Killarney); Niamh Flaherty, Ciara Hudson and Grainne Stack.(Moyvane)

Under-15: James Flaherty (Moyvane) Brendan McGovern (Annascaul). Brian O'Connor, Niall Geaney, Rachel O'Connor (Dingle) Eimear Horgan (Currow) Sarah Barry and Jebin John (County) ; Susie Rice and Rachel McCarthy (Abbeydorney)

Manager is Billy Lacey (Kingdom, Castleisland). Starting time in UL on Sunday is 10am.

Read More

Promoted articles