Local athletes show great early season form at Munster Indoors


Published 09/01/2013 | 10:20

A day to remember: Young Duagh fans of all ages gather around the North Kerry SFC Cup after their club defeated Beale in the replayed 2012 final in Listowel on Sunday to win the title for Duagh for the first time since 1962. Credit: Photo by John Reidy

THE athletes representing Kerry clubs showed some excellent early season form at the Munster Senior, U23, Junior and Masters indoor championships at the recently refurbished Nenagh Indoor Track on Sunday last.

In the Senior championships we had hugely impressive wins in the Women's 1,500m from Laura Crowe (An Ríocht) in an excellent new PB of 4 minutes 25 seconds and from Maria McCarthy (Farranfore) in the 3,000m in a time of 10 minutes 49 seconds. Maria was also runner-up in the 1,500m in 4min 58sec. Ian Crowley also of Farranfore won the high jump with a clearance of 1.75.

Our other Senior medallist was Ann Marie Costello (Gneeveguilla) when taking the bronze medal in a hotly contested 3,000m.

PJ Galvin (St Brendan's), competing now at the U23 level, won gold in the 110 hurdles and silver in the 60m sprint and high jump. The high jump was an excellent competition where PJ cleared 1.95m which edges him ever closer to the 2m barrier.

Michael Godley (Tralee Harriers) has also moved up to the U23 age group where he won a silver medal in the triple jump with a leap of 12.35 and a bronze medal in the long jump with a leap of 6.01m.

The Tralee Harriers trio of Eoin O'Carroll, Clara Heinrich and David Kavanagh were all medallists in the Junior championships. Eoin continued where he left off last year when running the 60m in 7.20 and placing 2nd in the long jump with 6.74. Clara was 3rd in the 60m with a fast 8.28, while David was 3rd in a very competitive 1,500m in a time of 4.11.

Peter O'Brien (St Brendan's) was a double gold medallist in the shot with a throw of 11.57 and in the weight for distance when throwing 7.64.

Our Masters athletes were in brilliant form when dominating many events. Stand-out performances came from Robert Purcell (Gneeveguilla) in the 3,000m and his club mates Bríd Stack in the sprints, Sheila O'Donoghue in the shot, Patsy O'Connor (Tralee Harriers) in both throwing events and Jim O'Shea (Farranfore) in the high jump.

Others to get on the podium were Mike Browne, Elaine Cronin and Annette O'Brien, (Gneeveguilla) - Elaine, Annette, Sheila O'Donoghue and Bríd stack combined to win the 4x200m relay - Neilus Daly and Donal Crowley (Tralee Harriers) and George McCarthy and Eddie Mulcahy (Farranfore/Monavalley).

Beaufort 10k Road Race

BRIAN Murphy (Iveragh) was an impressive winner of this very popular Lee Strand sponsored New Year's Day 10k Road Race in a time of 33.22. He was followed by Donal Coffey (Leevale) and John Barrett (Gneeveguilla). The first woman home was Anna O'Neill (Doheneys) in a time of 39.51 from Catriona Barry (Farranfore) and Deirdre Nagle (Cork).

One hundred and forty runners took part with many more walking the route. As always, the very progressive Star of the Laune Athletic Club organised a top class event that continues to go from strength to strength.

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

GrabOne Deals