Nominations almost declared


Published 07/11/2012 | 09:47

At the turnstiles: Geraldine Stack from the venue club pictured on the turnstiles for Sunday's Credit Union County Senior Hurling League Division 1 final between Ballyduff and Kilmoyley in Abbeydorney Photo by John Reidy

THE deadline for nominations for the five vacant officerships on the Kerry GAA County Committee will close this evening (Wednesday) with potential candidates having until Friday evening to either rule themselves in or out of the running.

At annual convention in December the county committee must elect a new hurling officer, a new scor officer, a new PRO and two new Munster Council delegates.

As of Tuesday afternoon some well-known GAA people were already declaring their intention to contest for one or other of the officerships, and there will almost certainly be elections for at least two of them.

John O'Leary (Spa) has already declared his intention for the PRO post, which will be vacated by Maureen O'Shea, and by Tuesday afternoon no other person had publicly declared their interest. However, former county board PRO Willie O'Connor has been mentioned as a possible contender in some local GAA circles.

It looks like it could be a five-horse race for the two Munster Council delegate position. Christy Killeen (Finuge) and out-going Cultural officer Diarmuid O Se (Dromid Pearses) already declared to run, while Mike 'Larkin' McCarthy (Milltown/Castlemaine), Ger Doyle (Abbeydorney) and out-going Hurling officer Joe Walsh (Kilmoyley) understood to be prepared to seek election to the post.

It's also likely there will be a contest for the vacant Hurling officership with Gerald McCarthy (Causeway), Seamus O'Regan (Kilmoyely) and Tadhg O'Halloran (Ballyduff) being mentioned in connection with the post.

Meanwhile, there have been no public declarations of interest in the Scor officership although Derry Murphy (Dingle) has been mentioned in relation to the position.

After nominations close this evening (Wednesday) at 5pm those nominated have until Friday evening to accept or decline their nomination.

On Monday, November 19 ballot papers will be sent to the clubs and delegates with county convention to take place on Monday, December 10.

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

GrabOne Deals