Wednesday 1 October 2014

Drive-in rain at local golf club ceremony

Published 15/01/2014 | 05:36

  • Share
Castleisland Golf Club’s newly-installed officers: Presidents Ann Stuart and Maurice O’Connor (seated) with captains John O’Connell and Margaret Moloney.

The annual Castleisland Golf Club Drive-In went ahead on Sunday morning in spite of frightful weather, after being called off previously due to even worse conditions.

  • Share
  • Go To

The newly installed officers were joined afterwards in the clubhouse by fellow members as the worsening conditions and driving rain lashed the countryside around them.

New captains, Margaret Moloney and John O'Connell and presidents, Ann Stuart and Maurice O'Connor, hoped for better conditions for the year ahead as they settle into their roles at the scenic and beautifully developing course at Tulligubeen. The course is now facing into its 13th year of service since it was opened in the summer of 2002.

The roll of honour at the club since its foundation reads as follows: Officerships in order as on the first line.

2002: Lady Captain, Breda Geaney; Lady President, Sheila Hannon; Captain, Martin O'Donoghue; President, Andrew Kelliher.

2003: Breda Geaney, Sheila Hannon, Martin O'Donoghue, Andrew Kelliher.

2004: Babs Kelliher, Sheila Hannon, Dano Dennehy and Tomo Burke.

2005: Ann Stuart, Millie Browne, Sean Brandon, Tomo Burke.

2006: Liz O'Connor, Millie Browne, Eamonn O'Connor, John Curtin.

2007: Nancy Fleming, Betty McAuliffe, Seamus O'Neill, Lar Hickey.

2008: Leila Moloney, Betty McAuliffe, Ned O'Callaghan, Con Daly.

2009: Máire Geaney, Babs Kelliher, John Geaney, Con Daly.

2010: Margaret Sheehan, Babs Kelliher, Dan Nelligan, Donie O'Shea.

2011: Mary Shanahan, Breda Geaney, Ben Foley, Donie O'Shea.

2012: Maria O'Connor, Breda Geaney, Con Murphy, Patsy O'Sullivan.

2013: Liz Galwey, Ann Stuart, Sean Turner, Patsy O'Sullivan.

2014: Margaret Moloney, Ann Stuart, John O'Connell, Maurice O'Connor.


Read More

GrabOne Deals