Wednesday 22 October 2014

Sun shines on Gaelscoil grads

Published 26/06/2013 | 05:36

Seosamh Mac a'tSithigh receives the Jessica de Priondaibhéil Memorial Shield for 'The best overall Effort' from the late Jessica's mom, Marie Keane and guest of honour, Weeshie Fogarty in the presence of Seosamh's proud mom, Marie Sheehy at the Gaelscoil Aogán Graduation Awards on Tuesday. Photo by John Reidy

The sixth-class graduation ceremony at Gaelscoil Aogain was held on Tuesday, June 18.

The activity took place on the greatly expanded and refurbished grounds and under a blazing sun. The ceremony began with a mass by Fr. Crean Lynch. This was followed by a cupla focal by an priomhoide, Tomás O Conchuir.

Guest of honour, Weeshie Fogarty then addressed the attendance of pupils, parents, grandparents, relations and friends.

Weeshie took them on a tour of his own struggles within the totally different educational landscape of his generation. He advised the pupils to look out for each other in times of trouble and to develop bonds that will stand the tests of time.

He also advised them to persevere with their education and he told them that the years ahead would find them scattered throughout the world and that their school days are preparing them for whatever life brings to them.

The graduates received a personalised candle which chronicled their term at the school - in this case the souvenirs carry the years: 2005 to 2013; the school crest and all their classmates names. The special occasion candles were crafted locally by Ruth Nolan of Candle with Care.

The various achievements of pupils over the year were acknowledged like: those who never missed a day at school; Best overall Irish Speakers; Pupils of the Year; Creative English Writers and Best Overall Workers.

The following is a list of the awards:

Lán Tínrimh - Full attendance

N1 Pádraig Ó Brosnacáin and Rachel de Barra

N2 Daniel Ó Murchú

R1 Seán Ó Braoin and David Peskett and Jer O Brosnacáin

R2 Katie Nic Chóitir and Hannah Ní hIarlaithe

R4 Faith Peskett and Seán MacGearailt

R5 Seosamh Mac a' tSíthigh and Cáit Ní Chárthaigh

R6 Niall Ó Seanacháin

Béarle Cruthaitheac - Creative English Writing

R3 Caoimhín de Barra

R4 Iarla Roche Ó hEidhin

R5 Aindeiú Ó Múineacháin- Norette Uí Choitir Trophy.

R6 Stiofán O Murchú

Labhairt na Gaeilge - Irish Speaker

R1 Josh Elvins

R2 Ruby de Róiste-Ní hEidhin

R3 Jordan O Conchúir

R4 Bronagh Ní Néill

R5 Moira Ní Laoire

R6 Rian Mag Uidhir - Seán Ó Ciardubháin Trophy

Gaisc Mór na mbliana Best overall effort during the year

R1 Katelynn Laide

R2 Hanna Ní hIarlaithe

R3 Jake MacSheoin

R4 Seamus Ó Brolacháin

R5 Seosamh Mac a' tSithigh- Jessica de Priondaibhéil Trophy.

R6 Leáine Ní Shiochrú.

Dalta na Bliana - Pupil of the year

R1 Bríd Nic Gearilt

R2 Joanna Ní Mhuineachin

R3 Eddie Ó SúilleabhAin

R4 Séan MacGearailt

R5 Tara Ní Mhurchú

R6 Seán Breathnach - Cáit Ní Chonaill Trophy

Parents of fifth class pupils provided the ingredients for light refreshments after the ceremony and a wonderful day was had by all.


Read More

GrabOne Deals