Lispole football heroes celebate 25th anniversary of six-in-a-row glory days

Published 07/11/2012 | 09:47

Members and represenatives of the Lispole team of the 1980s who won six West Kerry Championships from 1982-1987.

GLORY days were re-lived on Saturday night as CLG Lios Póil celebrated the 25th anniversary of their epic West Kerry Championship six-in-a-row .

The Lispole squad of the 1980s entered the record books by winning six successive West Kerry Championships between 1982 and 1987 and the team congregated in the Skellig Hotel, along with family, friends and supporters to recall and celebrate the extraordinary achievement.

The players and management of the era, some who travelled back to West Kerry from Cork, Dublin, Kildare and Limerick for the event, were honoured on the night. It also proved to be a very poignant affair as homage was paid to the late Liam and Denis Higgins who played an important role in securing Lispole's place in the history books. On the night Liam was represented by his son Cian while Denis was represented by his daughters Elaine and Gráinne.

"It was a very good night," said Cathy Griffin, who helped organise the celebration. "A lot of work went into organising the event, which was mainly put together by Tomás Hanafin. Tomás also made a booklet containing all the reports from the era and this was presented to the players and management in the night."

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

GrabOne Deals