Horetown are the tops in polocrosse

Published 18/09/2012 | 18:17

David Young, Emily McDonagh, Lorraine Scott, BJ Byrne, Conor Doyle and Sharon Kennedy from the A/B Grade.

HORETOWN POLOCROSSE CLUB are this week celebrating a fantastic win in the A/B Grade last weekend at the National Championships.

Their games began on Saturday morning with a win against a very strong Limerick team. Following this they met with Carrickmines on Saturday afternoon and again had a great win.

This saw them reach the semi-final on Sunday morning where they met Wicklow Bay. After a hard fought game, Horetown emerged victorious with a score line of 23 goals to 9. The final was to be against Carrickmines at 5pm, the highlight of the weekend.

With crowds gathered both teams emerged onto the pitch to great applause. Horetown were represented by Conor Doyle, Sharon Kennedy, BJ Byrne, Emily McDonagh, Lorraine Scott and David Young. Carrickmines players were Joanne Lavery, Heidi Brabazon, James Smyth, Mark Hall, Ailbhe Mangan and Ruth Shanahan.

Carrickmines got off to a flying start and were in the lead by two goals at the end of the third chukka.

Horetown fought back and levelled the game. They went into the final chukka with a lead of three goals and the first goal of the chukka went to Carrickmines. But Horetown were not going to concede at this stage and Emily slotted in another goal and the final whistle blew with a final scoreline of 15-12.

It was a thrilling final with two very skilled teams. Congratulations were received from the opposing team and from the entire huge crowd in attendance.

Horetown Polocrosse Club also received top honours in the Junior B competition. The team of Ella Quinlan, Patrick Flavin and Emma O'Sullivan played some fantastic games all weekend and emerged as national champions after beating off stiff competition from Carrickmines and Wicklow Bay.

Promoted articles

Read More

Promoted articles

GrabOne Deals