Wednesday 23 August 2017

Going green


GREEN-FINGERED children and civic-minded adults who have given up their time not only to ' keep Wexford beautiful' but to care for their local environment were singled out at the Wexford County Council Annual Environment Awards.

The County Council's environment secion, organisers of the awards, hailed the occasion as a ' tremendous celebration of the environment and voluntary effort'.

'It is heartening to see groups of local volunteers showing such spirit and in the process inspiring others in their community to follow their example,' Cathaoirleach of Wexford County Council, Cllr Kathleen Codd-Nolan, told the attendance.

Environmental consultant and chairman of Wexford's Naturalists Field Club, Chris Wilson, gave a talk on 'Wexford's iconic species', the Greenland white-fronted goose.

A ' sort of environment quiz' put the grey matter to the test and the first to answer all six questions correctly bagged a prize.

Luke O' Rourke, Anne Morris, Jack Redmond, Barb Behan, Mandy Callanan and Mary Furlong were the masterminds of the night.

The overall winners of the ' Keep Wexford Beautiful' Competition were Ferns Development Association, who whose work was praised by MC Alan McGuire.

Also there to collect their awards on the night were all eight schools receiving ' Green School' classification.

Each Green School was presented with a nest box and a set of posters sponsored by The Wexford Naturalists' Field Club. Eoin Murphy from Ballyduff National School was singled out for an individual award as he was named the overall winner in the Christmas Decoration Competition 2011.

Eoin's entry entitled ' Rudolph' was made using old wire, scraps of paint, old newspaper, pipe cleaners, old buttons and cardboard.


Green Schools: Coastcare Project: Coláiste An Átha, Kilmuckridge Scoil Mhaodhóig, Poulfur, Fethard on Sea Scoil Mhuire, Our Lady's Island Scoil Mhuire, Rosslare Scoil Mochua, Oulart Scoil Naomh Bríde, Blackwater St. Ibar's National School, Castlebridge St. Joseph's Primary School, Kilmuckridge St. Kevin's National School, Tara Hill

St. Margaret's National School, Curracloe Wexford's Cleanest School: Scoil Mochua, Oulart Christmas 2011 Decoration Competition in Conjunction with South East Radio: Eoin Murphy, Ballyduff National School

Annual Environment Artwork Competition: Overall Primary School Winner Adrianna Sikorska, St Joseph's National School, New Ross Overall Secondary School Winner Weronika Piwka, Gorey Community College 'Keep Wexford Beautiful' Overall Winner: Ferns Development Association

Best Environmentally Aware and Presented Residential Area: 1st Castle Manor Residents Association, Ferns 2nd Westwinds Residents Association, Kilrane Joint 3rd Mayview Park residents Association, Oulart Joint 3rd Gorey Hill Residents Association Highly Commended Bernadette Place Residents Association, Wexford Best Environ. Aware and Presented Town/Village: 1st Ballygarrett Tidy Towns Joint 2nd Clonroche Development Association Joint 3rd Our Lady's Island Pastoral Council 3rd Ballycanew Tidy Towns Highly Commended Bree Community Tidy Towns Best Community Environment Initiative: 1st Ballycanew Tidy Towns Joint 2nd Blackwater Tidy Towns Joint 2nd Gorey Tidy Towns 3rd Rosslare Harbour/ Kilrane Environment Group Highly Commended Ballygarrett Tidy Towns Best Heritage Preservation & Conservation Project: 1st Hook Residents Association 2nd Tomhaggard Pastoral Council 3rd Askamore Tidy Towns Highly Commended Ballymurn Heritage / Development Group Best Community Coastal Management Initiative: 1st Ballygarrett Tidy Towns 2nd Ballyhack / Arthurstown Residents Association 3rd Kilmuckridge Tidy Towns HC Seamount Residents Association, Courtown Best New Entry: 1st Oulart Tidy Towns 2nd Fethard Tidy Towns 3rd Keep Duncannon Beautiful Best Community Energy Project: 1st St Vincent de Paul Ozanam House, Wexford 2nd Foulksmills Tidy Towns 3rd Tomhaggard Pastoral Council HC St. Joseph's Centre, Gorey SVDP National TT South East Best Bring Bank Award: Ballyduff Development Group Outstanding Individual Contribution to Wexford's Environment: Hillary O' Farrell Paul O' Mahoney Philip Scallan Frank Murphy George O' Connor